I do pretty things!

May really snuck up on me. The fact that it’s already the second, and that I missed Beltaine, completely baffles me. I wish I could go to the May Day Parade tomorrow, but schoolwork is just too imminent. Oh, Walt Whitman. I love you, but have a lot of work to do on that paper about you.

I should really start working on those grants for SoS as well.

I’ve been trying really hard not to freak out about how much money needs to be raised for Summer of Solutions. I just have to remind myself that I’ve got my money for the summer, and that others should be fundraising too. We’ll also be continuing to fundraise over the summer, so hopefully that can help people out with income. Unfortunately, if we get housing at this certain place, we need to pay everything up front, which will be really difficult.

You’d think by now I would have figured out that my anxiety disorder doesn’t mix well with monetary issues. I need to get my internal Panic Button under control. Not. Fun.

At least I made $70 doing 3 henna tattoos last weekend. And they turned out really well! I’m enjoying doing tattoos again – I love body art, it’s a very good outward expression of internal power. And there’s some really interesting magical theory behind it.

I know what you’re wondering. Is she going to post pictures? Of COURSE she’s going to post pictures.

This is a North African design I did for a friend.
An Indian design based on the festival of lights. I added some of my own touches to the design.

The top one is a North African design I did for a friend.

The middle one is an Indian design for Diwali, a festival of lights.
This is just a fun hand design. The second hand turned out far better than the first.

This is just a fun hand design. The second hand turned out far better than the first.

The henna turned out really dark on the hands, but from what I’ve heard not as dark on other parts of the body. While that is pretty common, I’d be curious to figure out what I could do to make it the strongest possible dye.

Oh, I also dyed my hair with henna. It’s not terribly bright, really subtle, but I like it. My hair goes naturally strawberry-ish during the summer, so it’s a pretty natural change.

Update from the writer front:

I got published in my school’s literary magazine!

Two of my poems got in, and one of them they had been planning on excerpting, but then decided to put in the full poem. So, if you’re at school with me, get a Fulcrum and read my work!

The journal came out right after my work was torn down in Creative Writing. I wrote a short story as an excerpt of my novel, and … well, people thought it was too ambiguous. Really, really too ambiguous. Part of that was the page limit (six pages? seriously?), and part of that was the fact that the character doesn’t know what she’s doing, so why should the audience? But I do see a need for more description. For the final draft, I’ll probably just write without worrying about the page limit and see where that takes me. I’m sure it will be more cohesive that way.

I’m still proud of my work. I put a lot of heart into it – hopefully someday multitudes of people will read it! If not, it will have been an interesting exercise that carries me through life.

Tonight was strike for the play. I also had to work backstage, which was a bit unfortunate, as I had been invited to a formal that was tonight. I would have liked to go, but I just couldn’t get off work, which was very unfortunate.

In spite of all this, I had a pretty good time back stage. I’ve been working on this dress, and am almost done with it. Now all I need to do is finish taking down the interfacing, finish the sleeve cuffs, and hem it. I will post pictures when it’s done – so far, it’s turning out to be absolutely gorgeous. Though I haven’t tried it with a crinoline. That should be a fun day.

I know that I should go to bed soon. Yes. Bed = good.

Good night, internet-land!

2 thoughts on “I do pretty things!

Leave a Reply

