Research Updates, plus “How I Stay Sane.”

The research is going so well.

All of a sudden, this afternoon I was miraculously able to schedule four interviews. Next week is going to be absolute insanity.

At the same time that these interviews were scheduled, I also heard back from someone I hadn’t thought I’d hear back from. They’re willing to do an interview, though cautious about how much information they can really give. But still, interview! The more the merrier!

My to do list for the week is looking like it’s almost done. Aside from the on-going projects, which are like reading, annotated bibliography stuff, and watching samples of digital projects.I’m getting nervous about my ability to streamline the information into something … I don’t know … useful? I’ve never done a film/audio project. I don’t want it to be a slideshow, but I don’t want it to be solely audio, and I want it to be manageable. We’ll see what kind of technology I can drum up for this.

In non-research news, life has been good. I took a day off yesterday to bop around a neighborhood near Uptown. Neither of us had been there before, and we discovered that we are definitely good shopping buddies. And he’s really good at directing me through city traffic. It was just really nice, I don’t know how else to describe it. I haven’t spent a lot of time with him alone before, and it felt good to do that.

I think my taking a day off yesterday was much, much needed. I’ve been dragging my feet this week about research, like I just need some time off. It felt really, really good to do that.

I have a tendency to be too much of a workaholic at times, and I totally know that. Next week will be really intense, what with traveling and four interviews (not to mention traveling with my father, which is always interesting). But this week can be a good “re-grouping” week before I head out. You know, to make sure my head’s on straight.

Other things I’m doing these days that are keeping me fairly sane:

1. Knitting. This is so relaxing, and a great way to think.

2. Doing more spiritual stuff. This is SO necessary. I did not realize how much I miss doing cleansing ceremonial things.

3. Biking everywhere. Even if I bike mostly to meetings, it feels so good.

Just being with people has been lovely.

I’m going to plan a Summer of Solutions gathering at my apartment sometime soon. I really want to hang out with people from that group in a non-meeting setting, with little pressure.

I think that’s all for now. That’s a fairly comprehensive update on my life. It’s a whirlwind, but I’m beginning to think I couldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

