Meta-Blogging Posts of the FUTURE!

Happy Sunday night everyone! There will not be a Cool-Thing Mondays post tomorrow (mostly because I have nothing lined up for it), and so instead of that you’re getting a Sunday Night Meta-Blog.

Aren’t I good at catchy phrases? (Not really, but maybe you should appease me.)

First off, if you haven’t noticed, the appearance of my blog has really been changing a lot these days. I haven’t really been happy with the standard themes that WordPress has (which is strange, because they are actually really good and there’s fantastic variety), and so I’ve been flip-flopping on a more permanent layout.

I think this one is going to stick around for a while. Sometime in the near future, I’m going to experiment with creating a customized header for it. I might even begin experimenting with custom colors using html/CSS coding structure.

There are two reasons for this:

1. It would be prettier/more unique.

2. As a member of the Media/Communications team for Grand Aspirations, I’ll probably end up working on the website. Better to experiment here where it doesn’t really matter than to experiment there where it does matter.

First step: Customized header! Next step: The world!

You’ll also notice that I’ve got a Twitter feed on the blog now. Yes, I have Twitter. It’s proving an interesting experiment in communication … I’m not sure how I feel about it. So far it’s really cool for keeping up with celebrities, authors, movie theaters, radio stations, etc. But I don’t like it when people “tweet” too often … Maybe that means this won’t be nearly as addicting as Facebook. But it’s certainly replacing my Facebook usage, which is drastically reducing my “staring pointlessly at a screen” time.

I think this is a good development.

**

There are a lot of posts that I want to write, but at the moment, my brain is really fried from homework.

These posts will also take more research/time than my standard project-update posts. They’ll be long, thoughtful, and come out (at least) once a month. Topics will include:

Modern Homesteading

Living off the Grid part 1: Practicality?

Living off the Grid part 2: Urbanization?

Seriously now, how “green” is sewing and knitting clothing for yourself?

College Budget Guide to Fair Trade and Organic Living

Urban Food Deserts: What to do about it

Think Global, Act Local: What about the material world?

development, development, development

Living Carbon Neutral in the City

Contemporary Cultural Fascination with Nostalgia

**

They might not get written, but they’re topics I think a lot about these days, and want to engage in somehow.

Also, a lot of these things are not things I’m currently doing. For instance, I haven’t figured out how to buy organic/local on my budget. But I’d like to, and I’d like to help other people figure out how to do that. It’ll take some thought, but it might be doable. Or not. Who even knows, man?

**

That’s pretty much all I have time for. Life is … uh … homework. Yeah. Trying to get ahead/stay on top of everything. Also, if you read my tweets, you’ll see that I might be coming down with the flu. So life is also about trying to be healthy. Wish me luck in this endeavor!

Probably bed-time. Need lots of sleep to not be sick.

Good night, Net of the Inter!

Leave a Reply

