Wishes and Thanks

Thanksgiving has to be my favorite holiday. I love the fall feast, I love what my family does to celebrate, I love seeing friends. It’s great to have four full days and a half of a day at home, relaxing with my family. It’s even great to be able to get out of my usual homework routine, and push through some difficult papers and spend a lot of time holed up researching and tying up loose ends on projects.

I love everything about this holiday.

Every year, my parents bring together their friends. Everyone brings a dish, and we have a feast of about 15 people around the table.

Because I love this holiday so much, and because I don’t do this often enough, I’m going to give a shoutout of thanks to things I am truly thankful for.

1. Friends. Seriously. You are amazing, and without the loving support of my friends, I would be so lost in this crazy world.

2. Family. My parents are wonderful people, and I am so lucky to be their daughter.

3. A great apartment. I really, really have a beautiful apartment that I live in, and I know that there are a lot of people out there not as fortunate.

4. My ability to eat good food.

5. My professors at University. They have been so encouraging and supportive, that I have really turned a 180 in a semester on my feelings about school.

6. My ability to afford to study abroad. This is largely due to my parents’ saving for school, and also in large part due to my own savings.

7. My bicycle and car. Transportation is really important, and I wouldn’t be able to have the same lifestyle without these things!

8. That Obama is going to Copenhagen. This is cheesy, and super activist-y, but … seriously, he needs to go. I’m disappointed that he won’t be there for the whole time, and that he’s going early (before some of the major talks will be taking place), but at least now he’s scheduled to go. In this world under threat from our actions, it is imperative that our leaders be strong and commit to having a future.

Powers of the world that be, thank you for these things!

**

Now, for the second part of my post: wishes. As the holiday season approaches, is indeed fully upon us, my mother in particular begins to pester me about what I’d like.

Now, I’m a pretty easy person to shop for. I like books. You’re set if you get me a book. I clearly have a lot of interests. But I’m trying to move myself away from a thing-centered life, and into a more relationship-centered life.

So here are some things that are at the top of my Wish List:

1. A new yoga mat. I’ve had mine for about seven years, and it’s getting a little tattered around the edges.

2. A membership to a co-op. I want to buy organic food, but without the benefits that come with being a member, that is hard.

3. A bus card. I feel really guilty about how much I use my car, and would like to support public transportation. However, it’s just more expensive to use my car to get from place to place.

4. Yarn! Or a gift certificate! I like all colors, except possibly pink. As long as it’s a unique color, I’m sure I can find something to do with it.

5. Books, as always:
*House of Leaves
*Dessa Darling’s “Spiral Bound”
*The Omnivore’s Dilemma

6. Some cookbooks, particularly from-scratch or world cookbooks. I want to get better at cooking for myself, and I really want to start making bulk foods – granola, hummus, etc. I also really enjoy world foods, and want to incorporate Indian, Thai, Chinese, Japanese, and Middle Eastern dishes into my cooking repertoire.

7. A traveler’s guide to India.

These are simple things, and sustainable things, I hope. I don’t want too many *things*, I would rather have experiences or things that can make my footprint on the planet less intense.

**

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! I hope yours is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

