T Minus 4 Days!

Blog: Check. Coffee: Check. Tasty Snack: DEVOURED.

Assignments due before spring break: 1.

Then … CELEBRATION!

My much-needed break is just around the corner. Seriously, this is SO NECESSARY for my existence right now.

This week has been relatively busy, but not nearly as busy as the last two weeks have been. Which is good, because my ability to focus has seriously deteriorated. My bedtime shifted from 11 to 9:30. You know what that means? Abbie needs a break, that’s what that means.

But there are many really great things that have happened this week.

For instance, I turned in my Collaborative Research application. This is the Arthur Project which has been growing for years. If I get this research grant, I will be researching King Arthur, pop culture representation, and Colonial/Imperialist trends in a “post-imperial” world. Can you say best summer ever? That would be my JOB, people! My JOB!

I would also get a very significant amount of money that would go to my India trip. It’s looking to be more expensive than I’d thought, but … such is life. (I’m actually kinda financially screwed if I don’t get the grant, but … there’s loans, right? *cringe*)

I also sent in my confirmation materials to go to India. They should be to the program directors by Monday. Whew, that’s a relief.

I’ve also managed to do yoga every day this week. I hope I can keep this up – it’s a really good thing to do. I generally feel better about my body, my levels of exercise, and life in general when I keep up with yoga. However, I really don’t think that I’m getting the kind of aerobic exercise I need. So I am (once again) contemplating running. I’ve tried to get into running before, and it just never really worked. But recently someone turned me on to the Cool Running: Couch to 3k program. It’s pretty cool, and should get me in shape at a decent, healthy pace.

Hrm … let’s just hope I stick to it … I added a tag for it, so hopefully I’ll feel accountable if I blog about it.

AND! I get to go to St. Louis on Tuesday!

Thanks to my wonderful friends, I have rides to and from the megabus stop. Have to get up bright and early to make the bus (leaves at 7). What will follow then is a full 24 hours of travel, BUT it is on a double-decker bus, and I love the act of traveling, so it’s totally worth it.

I have a six hour layover in Chicago both ways, and weirdly enough don’t know anyone who lives in Chicago. So I’ll just be crashing at a coffee shop and getting some much overdue reading done. I have things I need to read for class, and for my collaborative research. I’ll try to post as well, so that you all know I’m alive. There will at least be a twitter/facebook update.

As far as adventures in St. Louis go, the friend I’m visiting and I are going to an art show/benefit/fun thing where we can get free stuff, as well as a Tegan and Sarah concert! I also want to go out and hit some of the blues/jazz clubs. Free music all the time? Hell yes.

I’m sad that the break is only a week (there are other friends around the country that I would have liked to visit as well), but perhaps that’s a good thing. After all, I really need to not spend oodles of money. That’s what India is for.

And now: Fix myself another tasty snack, and then get on to that last stats assignment.

Leave a Reply

