National Novel Writing Month, or, How Abbie Got Her Groove Back

It’s been a LONG time since I was able to dedicate myself to writing fiction. This has been that month.

Many writers have conflicting opinions on National Novel Writing Month – and I get it. if you are so focused on quantity of words, you can lose sight of the quality – especially if you don’t have a solid plan for what those words will be forming at the end of the month. A lot of writers are also very introverted, and they are turned off by the community that NaNoWriMo encourages.

But there is one thing that trumps this for me: NaNoWriMo encourages you to get in the habit of writing. Every. Day.

For me, this has been an invaluable month dedicated to writing and storytelling that put me back on the right track. It has shown me that yes, even when life is hectic and crazy, I can still carve out time to work on my writing. The habit of writing – finding time to work every single day, thinking about my novel when I have downtime, and other planning exercises has been invaluable. I didn’t come in to this month hell-bent on “winning” and writing that 50,000th word. What I did come into this month looking for was that habit – and I won’t stop writing every day when December 1st rolls around. I might sleep in and lower my word count for the day, but I’ll still work.

And not only am I really excited to keep working on my novel, but because of the time I took to plan it, I feel like the writing itself is going very well. It will definitely be really rough in places, but that’s much better than not having written it at all.

I would guess I’m about somewhere between a fourth and a third done with the story in full, so it’ll be quite the long haul. But that’s a part of the fun, isn’t it?

Now, I really should get back to writing …

One thought on “National Novel Writing Month, or, How Abbie Got Her Groove Back

  1. Pingback: 3 Things You Should NOT Do with Your NaNoWriMo Novel | change it up editing

Leave a Reply

